Guidelines for Indian e-tourist visa

E tourist visa guidelines

The Government of India recently announced electronic visa facility for 43 countries. E-visa enables foreign tourists to arrive in India without possessing a physical visa. From June 15, 2015 foreign nationals from 31 other countries, in addition to the 43 countries currently in place, would be eligible for e-tourist visa.

E-tourist visa is not Visa-on-arrival

It is important to note that the e-visa facility offered by the government is not the same as Visa-on-arrival. Visa-on-arrival is an option where tourists can obtain a visa after reaching the intended destination. However, e-tourist visa has to be obtained a minimum of 4 days before the date of arrival in India. Many tourists misinterpret e-tourist visa to be visa-on-arrival and arrive in India without obtaining a visa. However, such individuals are asked to go back to the country.

How to obtain an E-visa?

Steps to obtain e-tourist visa

Steps to obtain e-tourist visa

Click here to apply for your e-tourist visa:

List of eligible countries

The table below lists the countries that are currently eligible for e-tourist visa

E-visa list of eligible countries

The table below lists the countries that would be eligible for e-tourist visa from June 15, 2015.

e-visa 2

Important guidelines

  • Individuals travelling for the purpose of leisure, medical treatment for short duration, casual business visit and meeting with friends or relatives are eligible to apply.
  • The required fee is 62 USD.
  • The facility is currently available at nine Indian airports: Delhi, Kolkata, Mumbai, Chennai, Kochi, Goa, Thiruvananthapuram, Bengaluru and Hyderabad.
  • From June 15, 2015 the facility would be extended to seven more Indian airports: Jaipur, Amritsar, Gaya, Lucknow, Trichy, Varanasi and Ahmedabad.

2 Responses

  1. norman head

    latest news on indian visa thank you

Check out our latest
Articles, Videos, Events,
Recipes and more!

Scroll To Top